Alsooooo..

Jaa, also ich hab jetzt mal den korrigierteren Text korrigiert^^, Naja, sind ja bloß Vorschläge.

Dear Host family!

First of all, I would like to thank you for considering taking an exchange student – maybe even me ?
In this letter I would like to tell you something about me, my family, my hometown and my life.

My name is Laura and I'm 14 years old. I was born on June 21st 1997 in the small town of Erkelenz (close to Cologne ). I still live there with my parents. We live in a house in a development area (???). Many teenagers in my age live there and I've known many of them for years.

I've got two half sisters called Andrea and Sandra, and one half brother called Markus. They're all over 30 years old but I often meet with them. Markus and his wife have a daugther, my 2-years-old niece Johanna. They will have a son in February, so I'll get a little nephew then. They live in a small town six miles from our house. My sister has a boyfriend called Heiko. He has got two sons, called Justin, he's 14, and Joshua, who's 6. They live in an apartment only one mile from us. Sandra, her husband and my 4 - year - old nephew Christopher live 30 miles away, so I do not see them as often as my other siblings. In most holidays, my parents, all of my siblings and I come together and play games or just talk much. So I know what it feels like to be an only child but I also know what it feels like to live with little children and my brother and sisters.

My hometown Erkelenz is located in western Germany. It`s a small city with only 44,000 inhabitants. The downtown is very small and does not exactly have many shops. But there are some bigger cities close to Erkelenz. I enjoy going there from time to time to go shopping with friends.

My parents Marita (54) and Wilfried (58) are self-employed. My father is a medical engineer. He repairs medical gadgetry all around Germany. My mother and a friend of hers own two solariums in near towns but most of the time my mother works in her office at home.
Well, that's my family !

I am currently attending the 9th class at a big high school with more than 2000 pupils. We have a wide range of subjects and many study groups and recreation offers,, like drama or climbing. My favourite subjects are sports and arts, but I also enjoy English, music and religious education. I do not like maths, physics and chemistry that much.

A typical day in my life looks like this: I wake up at 6.00 am. At 7.10 am I meet with some friends and go to school on my bike. School starts at 7:30 and ends in the afternoon. Sometimes I have lunch at school, otherwise I eat at home.

After school I do my homework and often meet with friends. Then we laugh a lot, take funny photos or have a drink at a nice café in town. Moreover we often go to the movies. When special events like concerts or funfairs take place in Erkelenz we often go there and have a lot of fun. Sometimes we travel to bigger towns or visit theme parks.

In my spare time I enjoy playing soccer. My favourite team is Borussia Mönchengladbach (fortunately they do pretty well at the moment !). I also enjoy taking part in the drama club at school. This year we studied the play '' King Arthur and the knights of the round table '' and it was great fun ! Almost all of my friends too part in the club or visited our shows.
I also love reading. I enjoy comedies or thrillers as well as books like “Harry Potter”.

My favourite movies are for example The Last Song or Horrible Bosses. I like comedies and love stories but I also enjoy thrillers and horror movies.

I enjoy TV-shows like “How I Met Your Mother”, “Scrubs” or “The Big Bang Theory” as well as German daily soaps.

I listen to a wide range of music but I don't enjoy punk or techno. At the moment I like singers like Adele, Avril Lavigne, Bruno Mars, Usher, Maroon 5, One Republic or Tim Bendzko.

At home I sometimes help my mother with the household. Usually I do my own laundry, clear the dishwasher and prepare the meals when I return home earlier than my mother. But I am not good at cooking; so most of the time I prepare frozen food. But sometimes my friends and I bake cakes or cookies and that's so much fun!

What else can I tell you about me? I asked my good friend Johanna to describe me and that's what she said: I am empathetic, caring, sociable and humorous !

Last but not least: I have dreamed of spending some time in America for several years now. Last year my parents and I went to Miami and I enjoyed it a lot. But I want to know the real american way of life, the culture and daily life. I would love to go to the USA because it is a large country and people from all parts of the world live there together. It is my big dream to see this country which I hear so much about on TV, in the radio, the cinema and newspapers.
And I want to improve my English - you would not believe how long it took me to write this letter.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read my letter.

I hope to hear from you and look forward to meeting you soon !






joaa.. aber wenn du sagst dass du dein Englisch verbessern willst solltest du vielleicht nicht den text mit der besten grammatik nehmen ;)
naja, viel glück noch!
Julia


TEXAS! <3

Diskussionsübersicht
28.10.2011
Laura F. USA travelbee 2012/13
28.10.2011
28.10.2011
Julia L. USA Kompass 2011/12
Alsooooo..
7.2.2012
Cathleen H. USA travelbee 2012/13
X Schließen
Success
Error
0.45