Brief

Hallo !

Mir sind da gerade noch ein paar Dinge aufgefallen, die ich noch korrigiert habe bzw. geringfügig umformuliert habe. Vielleicht hilft es dir ja noch ein bisschen.


Dear host family,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to read my letter. 
My name is *hust* and I was born on the 25th of December 1996. Currently I attend the 9th grade at school. 
I‘m fascinated by the American culture and the American way of life. This is why I would love to live with an American family for a while! I‘m pretty sure that we could get along well as I`m a friendly, open-minded and optimistic girl. I wouldn‘t mind doing some chores as it is a part of daily life, and the reason why I want to go to the USA is to take part of your daily life.
I live in a town called *hust* in Bavaria. *hust* has a population of 24.000 people and a total of eight schools. I live in a 4-room-appartment with my mom, my dad, my grandpa and my dog Chicka. The nearest bigger city is *hust*. There are really nice german houses built there with paintings on them. The next really big city is *hust* with a distance of about 40km from *hust*. There are lots of great shops, so it‘s a nice place to spend time at, regardless of whether you are on your own, with your parents or with friends.
My dad is a ship engineer, so he‘s not at home that often. My mom cares of my grandpa and manages the household (of course, I help her with this). My brother Martin has moved out already and works at a bank. He lives together with his family in an apartment in Latvia, near the capital city Riga. His son *hust* is eight years, his daughter *hust* is two years old. His wife*hust* is a purchases manager in a grocery store.

My grades at school are pretty average. My favorite subjects are English, history and arts. I think that history is a really nice subject because the people in the past did so many interesting things. It‘s fun and sometimes entertaining to learn about it. I‘ve always been interested in languages and to me English is an interesting language that is fun to speak. In total I can speak three languages - Latvian, German and English. The reason why I like art is that I enjoy drawing a lot and would love to have a creative job in the future, even through I‘m not quite sure yet what I want to do exactly.

We are 29 students in my class and I get along with everyone pretty well. Unlike the students in the USA, we cannot really choose our subjects. After the 6th grade you can choose if you want to have classes based on arts, economy, French or maths. Although you won‘t get away without having, for example maths in an art based class, you will have more art-based classes during the week than other classes, for example handcrafts.

On a typical school day I get up at 6:00am and get ready for school. At about 7:30am I go to school on my bicycle. At about 1:15pm I usually come home, have lunch and do my homework. In my spare time I enjoy drawing, reading books, listening to music, going to the movies and spending time with my friends. I also love walking my dog. Well, actually I like animals in general, so I wouldn‘t mind if you had any pets. I would rather be glad about it!
I was born in Latvia, so most of my relatives live there. We visit them as often as we can during the holidays. My parents own a house in *hust*, the *hust*rd biggest city in Latvia, and I‘m always glad when we go there as I can meet all my relatives there.
I love travelling, too. When we go to Latvia, we go there by car, so I‘m used to long rides as it takes about one and a half day to get there. Moreover I‘ve been to many countries in Europe, like France, Italy and Lithuania. I think it‘s nice to visit all the big cities, take photos and gather pretty memories of famous places like the Eiffel Tower. I hope to get the opportunity to travel the USA, too, so I‘m really excited to go there.
So I hope you enjoyed reading my letter. I`m looking forward to hearing from you soon!
Greetings from Germany, 

*hust*


Viele Grüße,

Marie-Claire

X Schließen
Success
Error
1.27